Latest News

Tournament Overview


Tournament Overview

The EA SPORTS FIFA 19 Global Series on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2019 continues in March, with the Gfinity Licensed Qualifying Event (March) on March 23-24, 2019. 

The Gfinity Licensed Qualifying Event (March) will consist of three tournament stages – a Swiss-style Group Stage featuring 16 players (per platform), the single-elimination Playoffs featuring 8 players (per platform), and a Cross-Platform Grand Final that features the top player from each platform.

Swiss Style Group Stage:
The Swiss-Style Group Stage will consist of 16 players from each platform, competing in a traditional Swiss format. In the Swiss format, each competitor does not play every other. Competitors meet in each round and are paired using a set of rules designed to ensure that each competitor plays opponents with an identical record, but not the same opponent more than once. Following the Group Stage, the top 8 players (per platform) will advance to the single-elimination Playoffs.

Visual Representation of Swiss-Style Group Stage

The Playoffs will consist of the top eight players from each platform competing in a single-elimination playoff bracket. Each platform will have their own separate playoff bracket.

After the Swiss-style Group Stage, each playoff bracket will be seeded based on each player’s finishing record in the Swiss-style Group Stage, with those winning more matches receiving better seeds in the bracket.

The Cross Platform Grand Final:
After the conclusion of each platform’s Playoffs, the winner from each bracket will advance to the Cross-Platform Grand Final. The Cross-Platform Grand Final will consist of a single two-legged match. One leg of the match will be played on the PlayStation 4, and the other leg will be played on the Xbox One.

You can catch all of the Gfinity FIFA Licensed Qualifying Event (March) action live from London on the Gfinity Esports Twitch Channel with the broadcast starting on Saturday, March 23rd at 2:00 PM GMT.  

You can check out the full tournament schedule, groups, brackets, and other important event information on our official tournament website at

Prize Breakdown

Place Prize Money (USD) FGS Points (Console Specific)
1st Place $8,750 USD 850 points
2nd Place $3,750 USD 850 points
3rd/4th Place (2nd on Playoff Brackets) $2,500 USD 450 points
5th-8th Place (3rd/4th on Playoff Brackets) $1,875 USD 315 points
9th-16th Place (5th/8th on Playoff Brackets) N/A 150 points
17th-32nd Place (Eliminated in Groups) N/A 110 points

So, what are you waiting for? Stop Dreaming. Start Playing. You might just end up at the FIFA eWorld Cup 2019!